Input - Performance Forum

Forum Post / Reply
You must log in before you can post or reply to messages.
Input
Wednesday, October 05, 2005 12:14 PM
I've been doing a bit of research and learned a bit for myself and would like some input.

I have an '05 Ion 2.2L Ecotec and was thinking about making it a project car. GM makes the Ecotec in the 2.0L variation as comes with the Ion Redline and the Cobalt SS. The Eaton M62 Charger can produce around 12 psi no mods. I'm pretty sure that GM Performance had rebuilt the bottom end of the 2.0L to handle a good bit of boost if I'm not mistaken. What I want to do is put a Turbo kit on it, hoping to push around 14 psi with the stock 2.0L internals. I'm relatively new to the Saturn/Ecotec community and don't really know much about this specific of motor. Anyone with more information on what this engines potential is would help me so much.

All in all I would probably swap the 2.2L for the 2.0L Turbo to see what she will do, unless someone says otherwise about the 2.2L. Probably throw a different tranny under it but thats for another forum.

Thanks in advance =D

Re: Input
Wednesday, October 05, 2005 1:26 PM
The LSJ (2.0SC) comes standard as a supercharged engine in Ion Redline and Cobalt SS, but is stock turbo charged in Saab 9-3. The Difference between the L61(2.2 ecotec) and LSJ(2.0SC) is that the bottom internals were made specifically for the forced induction.

In the GM sport compact book (ecotec performance book) link to it online:
http://www.gm.com/company/gmtunersource/downloads/gm_sport_compact_performance_build_book.pdf

The L61 internals are supposedly capable to handle 280-300 HP. After that there are performance racing parts or LSJ parts to substitute in for higher hp levels.

Also GM makes a supercharger specifically for the 2.2 L61. p/n 17800003

In that link it has every part that can be upgraded or added on on to a L61 2.2 ecotec.
Wednesday, October 05, 2005 8:09 PM