Tuning my 2003 cavalier 2.2 ecotec. - Performance Forum

Forum Post / Reply
You must log in before you can post or reply to messages.
Tuning my 2003 cavalier 2.2 ecotec.
Tuesday, June 05, 2007 9:01 PM

Hey. whatsup. I'm new to this. I just recently got a 2003 chevy cavalier 2.2 ecotec engine and i love it. It runs great. I have plans on tuning it, I'm interested in a new intake system, and a new exhaust system for now.

I noticed it is rather hard to find an exhaust system for this car, i can only find a vibrant that will fit the car. Does anyone else have any ideas as to were i could order a different system? If not does anyone know anything about the vibrant exhaust systems?

Now for the intake system. I notice it is sorta cut down the middle as to weather it is a sri and a cai. I found an injen that is considered and sri, but then i found an aem that is considered a cai. In the images both filters will sit in the same place of the car, which would be right where the stock air filter box is. Would that be considered a cold air intake or a short ram intake? I'm thinking about going with the Injen sri intake, but i havent really decided .. any opinions on that?

Also, would anyone have any more idea's on how to make the car better perform, i do plan on getting a carbon fiber hood and rims and all that, but looks isnt everything if the car dont go.

Oh and one more thing, when buying parts for it, since its a 2.2 ecotec engine will the 2.2 L4 engine parts have the same fitment as the ecotec parts, or does it have to be made for the ecotec engine. IF the 2.2 L4 parts would fit the same that solves the problem of running low on performance parts. i myself think it has to be strictly ecotec parts, but who knows.

- 2003 CHEVY CAVALIER LS SPORT ECOTEC -

- Current Mods -
-- Vibrant Exhaust & DC Sport Header --
-- Lower Motor Mount & TTR Upper Motor Mount --
-- B&M ShiftPlus & Vibrant Front STB --
-- K&N Typhoon Short Ram Intake --

RIP DAD<3 We love & miss you so much!