Steps to take before a turbo - Performance Forum

Forum Post / Reply
You must log in before you can post or reply to messages.
Steps to take before a turbo
Tuesday, July 27, 2004 2:49 PM
Ok, so I'm a complete noob. I can admit that, I claim that, and I live it. But at the same time, better to ask and get flaming answers than not ask and have a flaming engine.

Now that the b/s is out of the way, I have some questions. I am looking at putting the Hann Turbo kit on my '04 Ecotec. My question is this, what steps should I take to protect my engine, or maybe to harness more power out of my kit. I do know that since the engine was designed N/A a turbo will cause damage regardless, but I would just like to minimize the damage. Any tips or advice or better parts would be great.

Also, I know that at around 265HP the connecting rods are thrown, any ideas on a good company? I haven't researched the connecting rods much yet.

Thanks for your help.

Re: Steps to take before a turbo
Tuesday, July 27, 2004 4:05 PM
the hahh kit is a good kit and will provide lots of good boost

and going with their recomendations on their kit , you should have years of good reliable boost

<br>

Tuesday, July 27, 2004 4:26 PM
you could get some Eagle connecting rods + JE Pistons with them and get a Copper head gasket from GM. And get it with an intercooler. You will be satisfied with it.
Wednesday, July 28, 2004 7:45 PM
read the following books
maximum boost by corky bell
turbochargers by hugh maclnnes
and any other supercharging book
Friday, July 30, 2004 1:22 PM
a complete list of what you need to change, and when!
available here

this however does not tell you what octane fuel you will have to run with what boost pressure under a given compression, to prevent pre-ignition. The article meantions the destroked cranck that runs 2.0liter displacment, but they make a few 2.2 crancks that'll handle well over 1000 horespower, and for much less than the $3000 gm crank. <br>