PnP Head - Performance Forum

Forum Post / Reply
You must log in before you can post or reply to messages.
PnP Head
Monday, August 16, 2004 8:49 PM
Anyone have one of these installed? What kind of gains can be seen i the eco from this? I see that RSM charges about $1400 CDN to get this done - a little much for me.

On a side note, anyone know how much I could expect to pay for a used eco engine (say off of a wrecked car or something). I'd much rather buy the engine, and PnP the head myself (and buy myself I mean by my friends

<br>

Re: PnP Head
Tuesday, August 17, 2004 12:50 PM
All I can say is that my car is beastly with the cams and port matching that I had done... wasn't really expensive either...

A used Eco engine, figure on 500... probably cheaper depending who you get it from...
<br>

Tuesday, August 17, 2004 6:55 PM
cavfire - could I have more details? You'll have to bear with me, I am kinda new to this stuff... what exactly did you do? Did you do the port-matching yourself? andy idea on costs would be appreciated as well....

I didn't think I'd be able to get an engine that cheap. Man I gotta start looking harder... none of the wreckers around here had any eco's

<br>

Wednesday, August 18, 2004 10:29 AM
I asked a local yard about it, since they had one and the guy told me 500.

I had a local speed shop do the PnP on the Eco head... they only charged me 175 to do all 8 ports. I didnt have any valve angle work or anything like that. My cams were cheaper than most since I bought the GM cam blanks and then had Comp Cams custom grind them. I think I ended up paying 300ish total.

I am running roughly 155 HP to the wheels (the Ecos are roughly 119 stock)... and I ran past an Aurora on a curve (suspension mods RULE) and then once we hit the straight away, we were both wide open and he couldnt make up any ground... So yeah, pretty happy for $500 worth of mods
<br>

Wednesday, August 18, 2004 11:27 AM