Boosting an Automatic? - Boost Forum

Forum Post / Reply
You must log in before you can post or reply to messages.
Boosting an Automatic?
Monday, February 12, 2007 6:16 PM
I am new to the performance part of the car world. My old roommate got me looking at some options with different cars. Right now I have a 05 cavalier that is an auto. I have been thinking about boosting it but don't know the easiest way to do this. My friend suggested a tranny swap with a turbo. I like the turbos but I am wondering if it would be easier to just put a supercharger on it. If anyone has any suggestions let me know. Thanks.

JB

JB

Re: Boosting an Automatic?
Monday, February 12, 2007 8:57 PM
Trust me, a transmission swap isn't really realistic if all your looking for more power...

Your 4T40E, if well taken care of, can handle it just fine. You can turbo charge your car but it'll have to be custom. There isn't any auto transmission turbocharge setups and you can't use a manual turbo charger kit because of the difference in room around your engine and routing charge piping.

If you want, I can point you back to some write ups I wrote to give you an good idea of what you're getting yourself into.

It could be easier to supercharger but it just depends on what you want to do. Look into the GM Supercharger Kit. Very simple and easy to get into but do your research before hand.

www.kronosperformance.com / 732-742-8837

Sunday, February 18, 2007 9:04 AM
you should be fine boosting your automatic.... mine has held up good, and i have pushed it into the 12's with my only tranny mods being a cooler, temp gauge, and increasing the shift pressures

|Forged 8.9:1 Wiseco Pistons|Forged Eagle Rods|HPTuners|60trim|Tial Wastegate|
|Precision Intercooler|2.5" Exhaust|2.5" Charge Pipes|630CC Mototron Injectors|
|Stock: Fuel Pump, Transmission, Manifold, TB, Head, Head Gasket, Ignition, Suspension...|
Tuesday, February 20, 2007 6:12 PM