Pontiac G5 - possibilities? - Newbies Forum

Forum Post / Reply
You must log in before you can post or reply to messages.
Pontiac G5 - possibilities?
Sunday, November 16, 2008 3:21 PM
Let me start off by saying that I am no mechanic, and I don't really want to learn how to become one. I have many freinds in school for auto mechanics, and they can hopefully help me through this.

I currently have a stock, 2007 Pontiac G5 with the 2.2L. I know this car is not powerful stock, whatsoever.
I don't mean to sound like a tool, but I just want this car to move faster, perform better, and be overall more powerful. I have been thinking of 3 possibilities, which I have little to no knowledge on.
Would it be possible to...
1. Turbo or supercharge
2. Twin Turbo
3. Twin charge (super and turbo)

I don't even know if any of this is possible, but if it is I want to know how.
Also, what other things could I do to make the car perform better? Intake? Chip it? Throw it in a dumpster?
I am looking to spend 10 grand or less. If you could give me some parts, details, ideas, or instructions on how to do it, I'd love you.

-Thanks, any help is appreciated.

Re: Pontiac G5 - possibilities?
Wednesday, November 19, 2008 1:04 PM
If you're looking to start off small, your best bet is an intake, new header, downpipe, high flow cat and full exhaust. As far as turbo/superchargers go, it's definitely possible. Hahn makes awesome turbo kits for the Ecotec(albeit expensive). Truthfully, I'm sure with enough money and work you could do either option 2 or 3 but I promise you'd be happy with the results of a good turbo kit. Another good site is cobaltss.net, someone there can help you. In the end you'd be better off piecing together a good turbo or supercharge kit.

I had something really funny to put here but it was too long.
Re: Pontiac G5 - possibilities?
Monday, November 24, 2008 7:23 PM