Noob Intro and Parts Source Question - Newbies Forum

Forum Post / Reply
You must log in before you can post or reply to messages.
Noob Intro and Parts Source Question
Wednesday, May 29, 2013 7:52 AM
Hey, all. Noob here. Just checking in!

Me: 27 year old software engineer in RTP, North Carolina.
My car: A dysfunctional, base, cheaply acquired 1985 Pontiac Fiero 2M4.
My plans: LE5 or LSJ swap into it.

I know most of the specifics, including the needed modifications to the rear cradle. The mechanical/fabrication requirements aren't an issue for me. The issue I'm having is sourcing parts. If I source everything I need individually, it'll all run me way more than I can afford at this juncture. However, purchasing a donor car for the swap will give me everything I need in short order for much cheaper.

Here's my issue:
I tried CoPart. I'm either getting out-bid to the tune of 5k plus by people sniping auctions, or I'm getting runarounds/BS information from non-local facilities. (One was listed as 'runs and drives certified,' but when I arrived for a check, it was rod-knocking so hard that there's no way they were able to certify it. It wouldn't stay running.)

My question:
Anyone know where I can get a reasonably-priced LE5 or LSJ donor? Doesn't have to be local. Just reputable and preferably under $3,000.

Anyway, I'm sure I'll be posting more questions as I start to dig in and build this thing out. But one step at a time. Need to source parts, first!

~1985 Pontiac Fiero 2m4
~2011 Hyundai Sonata SE 2.0T
~2001 Toyota MR2 Spyder

Re: Noob Intro and Parts Source Question
Thursday, May 30, 2013 11:54 PM
Look at the LK9s. It is the 2.0L turbo engine out of the 2003+ Saab 93s. It is basically the same as the LSJ(except that it is turbocharged instead of supercharged). It is easier to find a healthy one than a LSJ, plus i do believe they are cheaper.

Re: Noob Intro and Parts Source Question
Thursday, February 26, 2015 11:16 PM