2.2L Newb with an 07 Malibu (Former SAAB owner) - Newbies Forum

Forum Post / Reply
You must log in before you can post or reply to messages.
2.2L Newb with an 07 Malibu (Former SAAB owner)
Thursday, September 27, 2007 5:20 PM
Howdy.
I'm new to the 2.2 Ecotec in my 07 Malibu, but I'm very familiar with the 2.0T in the SAAB 9-3SS and the old school 2.0 and 2.3s in the 9-5s and old 9-3s. I'm psyched about having the new Malibu (which can be had at a killer deal now, if anyone is thinking about it), but I have a few questions.

First of all, what can I do without voiding the powertrain warranty. I intend to keep the car, basically forever, and want to make sure I can go in and get all of my issues sorted at the 4 year - 9 month mark (Yes, it feels like my transmission is slipping! ) I know at some point I want to look into the plausibility (if any) of putting the 9-3SS rear end in it (so far it looks like it should be reasonably straightforward, have to take precise measurements though).

For right now, I want to get the thing moving. The V6 options advertise 200+hp while the 2.2 is stuck in the 150hp range. I'd like to get as close to that 200 range as possible WITHOUT boost right now. (If I ever get to a point where I want boost I'll look into the HFV-6 B284 as a possibility, as that's ready to rock at roll with 300+hp.)

(Feel free to correct any of the following)

I'm thinking start with air. Intake and exhaust. Does anyone make parts specifically for the newer Malibus? Or will I be making my own intake and paying someone to build me an exhaust manifold? Is there an ideal size on the exhaust side? 2.5"? Larger? At what point will I begin to lose torque (I'm a firm believer in "screw hp, give me ftlb!)?

Following that, are there other cams that I could take advantage of for this motor?

Where should I head after that? Is the TB a restriction? Are there other options?