Need Some Help - Performance Forum

Forum Post / Reply
You must log in before you can post or reply to messages.
Need Some Help
Sunday, March 20, 2005 1:04 AM
So I am a college student on a limited budget maybe 400$ to 500$ can be spent on it this summer. I have a base model cavy with rims and i just installed an intake. My question is would it benefit me more to invest in a 62mm throttle body or a Header (would have to bolt up to stock exhaust for now)? I also have another question...would a strut tower brace do anything to help me with a stock suspension setup. I have dont multiple searches and haven't found any clear cut answers. Im playing all this by ear so any help would be appreciated. Thanks

Josh

Re: Need Some Help
Sunday, March 20, 2005 3:53 AM
If you sepnt a little time searching eBay, you could probably do both.
Sunday, March 20, 2005 9:18 AM
Yeah ive been keeping an eye on ebay...so far i haven't found what i need yet...although that is where i want the throttle body from...no core charge. But honestly if i have to choose which way should i go? Someone has to be able to help me. Please.
Sunday, March 20, 2005 11:40 AM
Getting gas in is usually harder than getting exhaust out. With that said, I think the exhaust will be fine and I would concentrait on the more gas part.
Sunday, March 20, 2005 11:46 AM
if its a 5 speed i would buy the short throw
Tuesday, March 22, 2005 11:01 AM
For performance I would do the header.

Quote: no ofence man but if you have so much experience in all that why does your car look like crap?

Thursday, March 24, 2005 9:16 AM
From what I have been told the biggest bottleneck in the stock ecotec setup is the exhaust.
I think you would be good to spend the money on a good 4-2-1 header, pickup some low end torque. You already have the intake, then when you get a little more money you can do the throttle body.

Friday, March 25, 2005 7:20 PM