Spark Plugs - Performance Forum

Forum Post / Reply
You must log in before you can post or reply to messages.
Spark Plugs
Sunday, July 29, 2007 8:21 PM
ok so...

do iridium spark plugs make as much of performance difference as they claim too?

are they worth the $$$??

and how much better are they over platinum spark plugs?

Re: Spark Plugs
Monday, July 30, 2007 9:21 AM
Keep what you have. No real need to change them.

www.kronosperformance.com / 732-742-8837

Thursday, August 30, 2007 1:20 PM
Hi. newbie here, and hoping to share some good info with you all. here's my experience with spark plugs and trying to get more power out of them......

before i had my malibu, i had an 02 nissan frontier V-6. cool little truck, crew cab. had no balls whatsoever, so i went to car quest and installed bosch platinum +4's. spent like 50 bucks on them. came home, installed them, and the SES light came on coding a misfire. i immediately took them out, and replaced them with bosch super copper plugs, 7 bucks for the set. misfire went away, and the truck actually ran better without them. i had then done some research, and read somewhere, but dont remember where, that platinum spark plugs require more voltage to spark, and cause weaker spark than copper. reason? conductivity. here's the thing; when your engine operates, it compresses an air/fuel mix in the combustion chamber, and lights it off. this process has it's flaws though. if there's too much pressure, or too much heat, the cylinder will burn the air fuel mix like a diesel, with no spark. it will pre-ignite, causing a loss of power and knocking. that's why high compression vehicles need premium fuel. premium fuel resists preignition, but is at the same time more difficult to light off. so if there's some silver tongued retard who says his car that requires regular fuel runs better on premium, he is lying, or at least misled. it is actually detrimental to engine power output to fuel a regular fuel car with premium.