97 z24 with 02 eco swap - Performance Forum

Forum Post / Reply
You must log in before you can post or reply to messages.
97 z24 with 02 eco swap
Thursday, February 02, 2006 6:34 PM
Hi, im new to the cavi game, i was mopar since birth. I just purchased a 1997 cavi z24 with 81,000 on it. the 2.4 was swapped for a 02 2.2 ecotec and a 03 5 speed getrag. the car has no problems besides AC and the body is in beautiful shape. I only payed $2100 US for it. Sorry for the long post. now onto my questions...

1) what are some problems with these cars, specifically to my year and engine?

2) will ALL parts for the 2.2 ecotec fit mine, even though it was swapped?

3) whats the deal with the cat? cut it off or go high flow?

thanks for the help, i love this site

Re: 97 z24 with 02 eco swap
Thursday, February 02, 2006 9:47 PM
1) Now that you have the ecotec (how many km) you shouldn't have any problems there....the only problems then I could see you haveing is ones you would have with any low priced economy car thats nearly a decade old, but you are deff on the right track.

2) Any thing made for the 2.2L ecotec engine will fit if thats what you have in your car so yes

3) Well not having a cat is illegal but I am sure you knew that, but you could also have black smoke come out of your exhaust.....I say get a highflow. not having one is not going to gain you a bunch of power........

hope I was of some help and good luck with your car/new motor, what else do you have planned for it,and if you have any other question just ask.......

I have one true love in my life...And my girlfriend sits next to me in it
Thursday, February 02, 2006 11:37 PM